Window snapping isn't working

Describe the bug
Window snapping isn't working. BTT does have accessibility and screen recording permissions.

Affected input device (e.g. MacBook Trackpad, Magic Mouse/Trackpad, Touch Bar, etc.):

Screenshots
If applicable, add screenshots to help explain your problem. (You can just paste or drag them here)

Device information:

• Type of Mac: MBP 14-inch 2021 w/ M1 Pro chip
  • macOS version: 12.0.1
  • BetterTouchTool version: 3.611 (1759)

Additional information (e.g. StackTraces, related issues, screenshots, workarounds, etc.):

have you tried to restart your machine? I haven’t had any window snapping related bug reports recently , so I assume it’s something specific to your setup :-/

Are you sure window snapping is enabled in the BTT settings?

Yea, I also updated my macOS thinking that could be a factor but wasn't.

And yes, it's enabled.

Are there other ways I can help you debug it? I'm a software engineer too so it's ok if the way is technical.

Doesn't it do anything when dragging a window to the edges? So no preview animation, nothing?

Correct.

After the Monterey upgrade, this has been happening to me as well.

Window snapping and any Window Resizing keyboard shortcuts defined in BTT no longer work. These are shortcuts I've used habitually for many many years now.

Restarting BTT doesn't seem to help.

Restarting my Mac sometimes fixes it but not usually.

BTT does have accessibility and screen recording permissions.

1 Like

Most likely it's some sort of permission issue as it seems to work like before on most systems. I have had (very rare) cases of corrupted tcc databases with previous macOS upgrades, maybe that's again something like this.

You could try to reset the accessibility permissions via this terminal command (save any unsaved work before running this, sometimes this causes a restart):

sudo tccutil reset Accessibility

That + restart fixed it. Thanks!

That + restart fixed it here as well!