can't get caps lock to register in BTT as a shortcut

Hi,
I'm new to BTT tho been a long term keyboard maestro user.
I had it set up for caps lock to map to hyperkey and it was working fine, but then I had a disk corruption and had to reinstall macOS from scratch.
now, I can't get BTT to accept caps lock as a shortcut. it accepts other keys, like tab, but nothing happens when I press caps lock, except the caps lock light comes on.
I tried to check to see the key was correctly mapped in system preferences, and it is.
very strange...
M1 MacBook Pro, macOS 16.4, BTT latest version

Is maybe secure input mode activated on your system? Sometimes there are bugs in other apps that keep secure input mode on - BTT would warn you about this when clicking the BTT menubar icon.

Hi Andreas,
thanks for super quick response.
I don't think secure input is enabled, because when I press the tab key, or any other key, this is immediately registered by BTT.
...it's a strange one! particularly because I had it installed before my need to wipe and reconfigure my MacBook.
one thing, I was struggling a bit when I formed the initial shortcut because I added a further modifier as per the guidelines, to still allow the caps lock to be used as a caps lock if no other key was pressed. I've deleted and reinstalled BTT, including all preference files, just in case there is a command I created which is lurking behind the scenes!
I also have Keyboard Maestro installed, but I have nothing attached to the caps lock key from that app.
any other ideas?

Other keys can be recognized while secure input is active, that's why I thought it could be that.

It could also be a permission issue. Possibly try to remove BTT from System Settings => Privacy & Security => Accessibility (while BTT is quit) and add it again afterwards (disabling is not enough to reset the permissions)

Hi Andreas,

I'm completely stumped... I can't get past base 1 with the app and I'm fairly experienced.