Trigger only works 70% of the time

As a newbie, I've written what to me is a very basic trigger that is designed to delete the text message below the mouse, when a 3-finger tap takes place, while in Apple Messages. The trigger works about 70% of the time. When it fails, the trigger gets all the way to the point of bringing up the confirmation window, moving the mouse to the correct location, but it doesn't left click on the "Confirm" button. If I remove the Delay actions, it doesn't work at all.

Please help me understand why it's not working 100% of the time. Also, if there's a better/easier way to create this trigger, please let me know, as I'm very much still learning to use BTT.

Thanks!

Capto_Capture 2022-10-24_14-59-36_

@Andreas_Hegenberg, any thoughts, ideas or suggestions on this one? I posted it a few weeks ago, and no one has responded.

automating such stuff via mouse movements clicks & delays is unfortunately not very reliable.
A better way could be to trigger the corresponding menubar item followed by a return key (at least on macOS Ventura return confirms the delete):

You might need to enable keyboard control in System Settings => Keyboard

1 Like

Thanks! Where would you suggest that I go to learn more about the various options in BTT, and how best to use them. Many of the triggers/scripts that I've seen are pretty complicated, and I don't always follow what they're doing.

Cheers.

Is there an easier way to confirm the Delete button (in macOS Monterey) than using a mouse action to move the pointer to it, and having it activate a left click? (Sorry, I'm still trying to learn all of the functionality of BTT)

checkout the screenshot above :slight_smile: using the trigger menubar menu item action