Sharing??? With whom?

Hi there, I am a licensed owner of BTT for my MacBook Pro, and several times now I’ve found that I’m typing away and all of a sudden BTT shows that it’s ‘sharing’!!! The blue icon shows in my menu bar and I have trouble switching app windows.

Sharing with whom? With what?

I haven’t told it to share anything. Am I being hacked? What’s going on?

This has happened several times now. What is the sharing all about then?

Thanks,
David

Device information:

  • Type of Mac:
  • macOS version:
  • BetterTouchTool version: (please post the exact version - not just "the latest one")

Additional information (e.g. crash logs, related issues, etc.):

BTT won't share anything with anybody, but maybe you are seeing the macOS Sonoma screen capture notification? Can you post a screenshot of the message you are seeing?

There are multiple actions in BTT that might require to temporarily capture parts of your screen, see:

Thanks, there is no message, it's just that a few times the BTT icon showed screen sharing was on, though I hadn't authorised anything to be shared. Hasn't happened for a few days now, so I can post a screenshot if it happens again. But as long as you can reassure me nothing is being shared with anyone unless I specifically authorise it, that helps.