"Shared Password" Pop-Up, even if external scripting is disabled

Describe the bug

I think it started yesterday or a few days ago, whenever BTT is started, I get this pop-up asking for the shared scripting password. I've only used this once or twice a long time ago with Shortcuts.app, but not now. This happens even if external scripting is disabled.

Updated to current alpha, no change.


Screenshots

Device information:

  • Type of Mac: MacBook Pro 16" M1 Max 2021
  • macOS version: 26.5.2 (25F84)
  • BetterTouchTool version: 6.737

The password check is indeed done before the check whether scripting is allowed at all. So if anything is trying to trigger a scripting function in BTT this will currently show even if scripting is disabled.

It could be some script you have configured in BTT itself or some external caller. Possibly check the "Recently Used" section in BTT after launch.

I did, and I reset BTT by renaming the folder in ~/Library/Application Support. Also checked all possible Shortcuts etc., still got the warning message.

I absolutely don't have any clue where this is coming from – is there really no way for BTT to log the requested command?

6.744 should show a little more info in the popup, also it reverses the order (first scripting enabled check, then shared secret)

Thanks! After updating, the message shows „Request: set_string_variable (sent by BetterTouchToolNowPlaying2, pid 69778)“ – I guess this is something inside BTT? While this puts my mind at ease, how can I fix this?

Ah interesting, I checked and there was indeed one path where BTT could accidentally not trust its own helper processes. This should be resolved in 6.746 (uploading)

Yes, that did it! Thanks!