[Keyboard] How do I long press on keyboard?

Hi,

I've been a BTT amateur user since around the time it got first released.

I've recently decided to improve my workflow a bit since my worn out keyboard has like 4 working buttons left on it. How would I go about accomplishing the following:

[Press ESC key, quick, 0-300ms] --> Action 1
[Press ESC key, long press , 301-...ms] --> Action 2

Help would be much appreciated.

1 Like

Great question! I have the same. Is it possible at all?

Long press for shortcuts is not available yet but Iā€™m working on it! Hope to have this ready in ~2 weeks

2 Likes

9 long months later, my prayers have finally been heard! :pray:

Nice! Looking forward to this feature as well. Love seeing that you're working on it.

Andreas, while you're looking at this could you also possibly look at the ability to hold keys down to trigger mouse buttons, with the appropriate handling of mouse down/mouse up?

Specifically I am looking to bind F1 to LMB, such that whenever I hold F1, LMB is pressed.

In practice this means I need "LMB Down" sent continuously when F1 is pressed, and then "LMB Up" as soon as F1 is released.

I never found a way to do that in BTT, so instead I use Karabiner Elements. That's OK, except it then becomes quite complicated if I want conditional assignment, eg F1 = LMB, but Cmd-F1 = something else, no LMB.

I'd much rather be able to do this in BTT instead, if it's ever possible.

That should already work by using the "Trigger on Key Up" setting for the shortcut:

Combined with the custom click action

1 Like

Oh yes! Thank you.

I'm sorry, I never thought to use two separate actions. That's really great, thank you.

So now I'm wondering: can I do all of the stuff I do in Karabiner Elements, in BTT. The other stuff I have is related to getting my English UK PC keyboard to work fully, and not like an Apple UK keyboard. Like swapping " and @, and putting ` and Ā£ where they should be.