Is there a better way to refresh widgets without hard-coding the UUID?

Maybe i'm just being weird, but having to hard-code UUIDs for all of my widgets feels wrong. This is mainly happening right now for me when I need to refresh a widget after it's tapped/long pressed. To do that I have to hard code the UUID in one or two places, often outside of the actual widget (e.g. named trigger). This feels wrong because if I create a new widget for some reason, or want a similar widget with slightly different content I have to duplicate even more since the UUID must be hard coded and run the risk of forgetting to update it (already happened once recently).

I was going to create a Feature Request but since I'm fairly new to BTT (and only really using the touch bar widgets and named triggers) I wasn't sure if this made any sense, much less outside of the touch bar, or if I'm just missing something. Does this make sense to anyone else? Has anyone come up with better solutions?

If you wish to avoid forgetting to update UUIDs in your scripts, you can save the UUIDs to BTT persistent variables via "set_persistent_string_variable", it just like global variables that every script can use. Instead of hardcoding the UUID, use the following code to retrieve the UUID:

tell application "BetterTouchTool" to set UUID to get_persistent_string_variable "VariableName"

If you only need the UUID for very few times, I still suggest using the hard-coding, tell an application to do something is time-consuming.

That's an interesting idea, and should work for most of my cases. I'll have to see if that feels any better when I update a script.

However that would still (mostly) prevent me from writing triggers usable by multiple widgets. Which I just realized I didn't really explain that I wanted to do/give a use case. Here's an example: