Insert hyperlink into selected text in MS Outlook email (with different base URL depending on first two letters of selected text)

I am hoping to create a single BTT button to insert a hyperlink into selected text within an MS Outlook email. The base URL used as part of the inserted hyperlink will be different depending on the first two letters of the user's selected text.

Has anyone done this or can point me in the right direction? I did spend some time trying to hunt down examples using AppleScript, but, I'm quite new to it and am struggling to find anything similar.

Examples below of how selected text will influence the base URL of the hyperlink on press of BTT button:

1. selected text = "AA111" inserts hyperlink for "search engine 1" into the original display text "AA111"
  2. selected text = "BB222" inserts hyperlink for "search engine 2" into the original display text "BB222"
  3. selected text = "CC333" inserts hyperlink for "search engine 3" into the original display text "CC333"

By the way, this is similar to my earlier question today which @Dirk kindly assisted with:
Append selected text to one of the specified URLs, dependent on the first two letters of user’s selected text

This time around, I'm looking to insert the URL instead of opening the URL.

Surely you can manipulate an Outlook email directly via AppleScript - but I don't have it installed. But what always works is to change the selected text of the current application via the clipboard.

Here is a script that converts the selected text to a hyperlink and then replaces it with CMD + V.

Add the Action "Save selected text in "selected_text" variable" and than run this script:

tell application "BetterTouchTool"
	set theText to get_string_variable "selected_text"
end tell

set theUrl to ""

if theText begins with "AA" then
	set theUrl to "https://www.google.com/search?q=" & theText
else if theText begins with "BB" then
	set theUrl to "https://www.bing.com/search?q=" & theText