Get width and height of the display that the currently active window is on – with a multi-monitor setup

Hi everybody,

I'd like to make me a button on my stream deck that maximises the currently active window, if not already maximised, and restores the previous window size if it is already maximised.

TL;DR

Is there a reliable way to get the width and height of the display that the currently active window is on, if there are external monitors and/or an iPad in sidecar mode attached to the computer?

Long version

Since I'm a JavaScript coder by trade, I'm using the “real JavaScript” action to make it happen, which is excellent, by the way!

My algorithm goes like this, in pseudo-code:

maximised_window_width = display_width - stage_manager_margin_width
maximised_window_height = display_height - menu_bar_height

if 
  active_window_width is not maximised_window_width or
  active_window_height is not maximised_window_height
then
  remember_window_width
  maximise_active_window
  exit_script

if 
  active_window_width is maximised_window_width and
  active_window_height is maximised_window_height
then
  restore_previous_size
  exit_script

The algorithm calculates the size a maximised window has, based on the screen width and height, with stage manager margin on the left subtracted from the width, and menu bar height subtracted from the height.

If then checks if the currently active window matches that maximised window size.

If it doesn't, the algorithm assumes the window is not maximised. It “remembers” the current window size (i.e. stores it in variables) and maximises the active window.

If the active window size matches the calculated maximised window size, the algorithm assumes the active window is already maximised and restores its previous size.

Of course, the algorithm would also have to deal with X and Y coordinates of the active window, I've left that out here for simplicity's sake.