BTT drawing gestures versus xGestures. Please contact xGestures dev for superior implementation.

I've been using xGestures for many years and it works very well. I recently wanted to experiment with utilizing gestures without requiring me to hold down a modifier key during a gesture or pressing a key before and after a gesture — and xGestures doesn't currently have that ability.

I got your BTT trial and implemented a 4 finger tap that runs this simple applescript:

tell application "System Events"

key down {control}

delay 1

key up {control}

end tell

This allows me to 4 finger tap, then quickly perform a gesture with xGestures without physically holding down the modifier key. Works pretty good but it could be better. For example, if I don't finish a gesture in time it screws things up. I'd much rather have the modifier key only "auto-lift" after my gesture is complete, but I'm not sure how to accomplish that with AppleScript or if it's even really possible.

That's when I tried your implementation of drawing gestures. The problem I'm having with your implementation is I get a lot of false positives for other gestures. For example, I have a gesture of 'down and up' to close browser windows and 'up and down' to open new tabs. Often when I perform those gestures in BTT I end up with the application switcher gesture being triggered which is set to "up and right" or "up and left". This isn't an issues with xGestures. When I do a xGestures pattern it works every time without error, ever. With BTT it's very hit or miss every other time I gesture. I made gesture variations in your BTT app to help guard against this, but it's just not helping in this case.