How to set Global touchbar settings to appear even if your app changes

Hi guys,

Is there anyway that I can retain certain touch bar icons even if i'm switching applications?

I was planning to make some global icons or functions appear even if I change applications with a specific touchbar settings.

Thank you so much for the help :slight_smile:

yes you can - there is a setting for that on general toucher settings advanced

Yes. If you use a conditional activation group rather than an app-specific section, then things you add to the group will extend the global set, not override it.

Create the group, set the condition to "appName contains " and add widgets/buttons, etc. You can use the "Display Order" field in the Advanced settings for the button to keep things in the order that you want.

sorry, but these instructions confuse me as I am just a beginner in using this application :(. could you make them clearer and screenshots would be so much help :slight_smile: thank you so much

OK, let's see if I can explain...

Here's (part of) my global touchbar setup:

which looks like this:

If I want to keep everything that's there and add a couple of buttons for specific apps, then I need a conditional activation group. You get this the same way as for an app-specific set but, where the app-specific set overwrites all your global buttons, the conditional set adds to them:

You need to give it a name, and tell it to activate when a particular application is active (there are other options, but this is a basic, common one)

Here's a conditional activation group I created for the app Spark:

Note the three buttons: Archive, Delete message and Move message

And here's what the touchbar looks like when Spark is active:

See how the three new buttons have been added to the global set, rather than replace it?