A long time ago, in a galaxy far far away, I have a vague memory of Andreas telling me to turn on collecting external data in some troubleshooting operation.
But I don’t remember how I turned it on, and I can’t figure out how to turn it off. I looked through all emails from Andreas, and I checked here at the forum, but I can’t find the instructions for how to turn it on.
I could of course just clear out the folder and I’ll be good for a few years, but it would be nice to know how to turn it off. Anyone got any ideas?
It didn’t give me an space back. I had about 50 GB free, deleted 173 GB of files, and now I have 54 GB free…
My BTT clipboard history is still there, including images etc, even though the folder is empty.
Before deleting, I had a look in some files. The were all named with some sort of GUID, and they contained a mix of garbage text and text snippets I recognize as things I have copied.
I tried copying some stuff, but the folder is still empty.
it just stores "bigger" things of a clipboard item, the sqlite database automatically decides which parts of an item go into the external data folder - the "preview shells" of the items will still be there but trying to load e.g. a bigger image in clipboard manager will fail.
But what do you mean you cleared it out but it didn't give any space back? Did you maybe just move it to trash? These are normal files so fully deleting them would definitely give the space back.