Execute Terminal command syntax limitations ?! aka: /usr/bin/env seems to cause trouble.

Hi,
I am trying to use the "execute terminal comand" feature... but I am missing info about quoting / escaping, etc.

I have this command that executes fine in a terminal, but if I paste that into the execute terminal command (async) textbox, nothing happens when triggered.

/usr/bin/env cmd=/usr/sbin/networksetup dev=en0 /bin/test "$($cmd -getairportpower $dev|/usr/bin/cut -f4 -d' ')" = "On" && $cmd -setairportpower $dev off || $cmd -setairportpower $dev on

I suppose it's a matter of escaping / quoting ....
.... all depends how the string is executed by BetterTouch.

It would be phantastic to either mention or link the details in BetterTouch when you add the "execute terminal command" action.

And I would really like to avoid pasting the command into a script and execute the script (because I prefer to have this logic within BetterTouch together with my keyboard shortcuts).

As I am new to Bettertouch:
Is there a way to see the error message of the execution attempt logged somewhere?

Thanks a lot in advance for any help / hint!

Better use the Execute Shell Script / Task action, it will show you the output / errors.

On quick glance these variables $cmd and $dev might not be defined in the BTT context?

Hi Andreas,
Thanks for your feedback!!

$dev and $cmd get defined by the /usr/bin/env command.... but this is just optimisation.

Now I tried:

/bin/test "$(/usr/sbin/networksetup -getairportpower en0|/usr/bin/cut -f4 -d' ')" = "On" && /usr/sbin/networksetup -setairportpower en0 off || /usr/sbin/networksetup -setairportpower en0 on

And this actually works fine with "execute Terminal command"!! :))

Because I love to avoid /bin/bash -c ... i usually like to understand the exeact limitations of the "execute terminal comand":

(1) Can I use backticks `...` in the command string ?
  (2) Can I use single quotes  '...' in the command string ?